Internship in Peru

Carrie Rheingans

Carrie Rheingans

Since I’m crazy, I’m doing an additional internship as part of the FELA Program (Field Experience in Latin America) in Peru, with an organization called Vía Libre, the largest AIDS organization in Peru. I’ll only be here seven weeks, so I won’t have a lot of time to start a project. For my first week, I’ll be meeting with the project directors of most of the major projects at Vía Libre to learn more and possibly decide what I can help out with. One project I’ve discussed with Dr. Robinson Cabello, the Executive Director who will also be my supervisor, is to do an evaluation of the effectiveness of the mobile units used to do outreach, education, and HIV testing to various locations. This project is partially funded by the Ginsberg Student Fellows Program at the Ginsberg Center for Community Service and Learning.

As a student in the U-M School of Social Work, I was asked to blog and tweet (on Twitter, a micro-blogging site) about my internship, daily life, and social aspects of living in Peru. You can see non-internship-related stuff on my personal blog and can follow me on Twitter to get updates as well. You can also see a map of the locations I’ve been to in Lima and surrounding areas via my google map.

Leave a Reply

