Real Public Health Student of Ann Arbor: Countdown to Graduation!

Janaiya Johnson

Janaiya Johnson

Hello! My name is Janaiya Johnson and I am a second-year student in Health Behavior Health Education (HBHE).  As our fall break is coming to a close, I’m realizing how fast the semester has gone by!  This was further solidified as I just received the “Save the Date” for graduation!  Having just completed the poster session (picture below), I remember being a first-year student inquiring about internships and how to survive biostatistics. Calculating P-values and Correlation coefficients seem easy in comparison to preparing to enter the job market or deciding whether to continue on to a PhD program.

SPH Fall 2009 Poster Presentation

Just a little about me…I am originally from Ann Arbor, however I went to undergrad at Spelman College in Atlanta, GA. Prior to beginning the MPH program I worked for the University of Michigan Institutional Review Board (IRB) monitoring the ethical conduct of research on campus. Though I had an introductory course in Public Health while I was in undergrad, my position at the IRB was the catalyst for applying to the Public Health program.  I was always intrigued by the projects that were submitted and slightly jealous that while I was reading applications in my office, students were out conducting research all over the world!  Determined to be an international researcher myself, I applied to the MPH program.

The summer before starting the program, I began a new job as a research Project Coordinator for a study investigating disparate birth outcomes in African American women.  This position was extremely helpful in learning how to actually conduct research in the field, as this past summer I had the opportunity to research pregnancy complications and maternal mortality in Ghana, Africa.

And now I’m back from my international adventures, finishing my last year in the program and also working as a Graduate Student Instructor (GSI) in Women’s Studies.  In my free time, one of my guilty pleasures is watching the “Real Housewives” reality series on TV. As I continue along my journey and count the days to graduation, I’ll share my “real” experiences (good…and not so good) as I juggle a full course load with working as a GSI and preparing for life after my MPH. Welcome and thanks for visiting my blog!

2 thoughts on “Real Public Health Student of Ann Arbor: Countdown to Graduation!

  1. Hi Janaiya,
    We met yesterday at the Careers in Women’s Health Panel. I just wanted to follow up with you about getting together to talk more about HBHE and applying to SPH. If you could email me about what times work for you that would be great.
    Thank you!

    Lillian

  2. Hi Janaiya,

    I too am alum of Spelman College (i.e. c/o 2009) and a recently admitted student into the SPH. I wanted to know about your transition from a small private college to the U of M.

    Thanks,
    Juandalyn

Leave a Reply

