The Start of a New Semester

David McCormick

David McCormick

It’s hard to believe that I’ve completed 25% of my MPH here at the University of Michigan – time has flown by since I started the program.  As short as the semester was, our winter break was much shorter (they give us all of two and a half weeks off) and now it’s back to work.  Seeing as it’s the start of a new year and all, now is a good a time as any to look back on last semester, see what I’ve learned so far, and look ahead to where I hope to be at the end of this semester.  To be honest, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I started last semester (it’s not as much like The Hot Zone as I’d hoped…).  All in all, it was much more math-based than I thought – I was expecting more of a focus on science and biology.  I’ll be continuing that trend this term, as most of my courses are either statistics, study design (scientific thinking combined with applied statistics), or using math to model infectious diseases (which is much more fun than it sounds, I promise).  So what did I accomplish last semester?  There’s a picture of the workload below (it’s about a foot high).

Workload for the First Semester

While it looks like a lot, I enjoyed (almost) every minute of it.  The assignments were practical and interesting, and the vast majority of the readings were enjoyable.  I’m very pleased with the program so far and looking forward to another semester.

Leave a Reply

