Whirlwind of a Week!

Janaiya Johnson

Janaiya Johnson

I decided to take a much needed break from writing cover letters  as this week has been jammed packed with exciting events in and around Ann Arbor and on campus!

To celebrate the 97th anniversary of an organization dear to my heart, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., I attended the Ann Arbor Alumnae Chapter Founders Day program this past Saturday.  Editor-In-Chief of Essence Magazine, Angela Burt-Murray, provided a truly inspirational keynote address and in hearing her personal stories about her encounters with President and Mrs. Obama, I am all the more excited about the President’s arrival in May!! After the program I had the opportunity to meet Mrs. Burt-Murray (I somehow managed to restrain myself from asking her for a job…) who was very friendly, and best of all, provided every attendee with a free copy of this month’s magazine!

Angela Burt-Murray, Editor-In-Chief of Essence Magazine

Yesterday I attended the Detroit Pistons game sponsored by Rackham Graduate Student Affairs and Rackham Student Government.   Even though the Pistons didn’t win, we still had a great time!

The Pistons vs The Cavaliers

Today, I’m celebrating St. Patrick’s Day by participating in the “Kiss Me…I’m Sober!” campaign.  University Health Services (UHS) distributed T-Shirts to promote an alcohol-free presence on campus. I love to see Health Behavior Health Education in action!

Kiss Us...We're Sober! Terika, Laura, Janaiya

Tomorrow, i’ll be celebrating the Center for Afroamerican and African Studies (CAAS) 40th Anniversary by attending  “From Motown to Hip-Hop: a Celebration of Detroit Music” featuring Neo-soul artist Dwele, spoken word artists Blair and Dee, U-M student spoken word artist Walter Lacy, and U-M student musical group The Cypher (free tickets are still available through CAAS and MUTO).

Neo Soul Artist Dwele

Neo-Soul Artist Dwele

This Friday I’ll be attending the Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE) Spring Conference entitled “Innovative Technology for Community Engagement: Improving Health Outcomes”.  As two of our professors from the School of Public Health will be facilitating workshops during the conference, I encourage all SPH students to come check it out!! The conference will be held at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center in Lansing, MI. For more information go to http://www.glcsophe.org.

As I stated, it’s been an exciting week thus far  I’m sure there is more excitement to come! Therefore, I hope to see other SPH students at the CAAS event and the SOPHE conference on Friday!  Maybe I should get out more often, it sure beats writing cover letters…  🙂

2 thoughts on “Whirlwind of a Week!

  1. I remember those cover letter days. Honestly, I really enjoyed my last semester at Michigan in HBHE. I cherished every moment with the wonderful people that I had met in those two years in Ann Arbor, and went to most events on and off campus. I had a blast! I encourage you to continue having fun (which definitely takes your mind off the call backs), and pursuing your passion. It’ll be easier for you then to know what you really want when that job opportunity or program writes back.

  2. Janaiya:
    Even in this crummy job market, I’m sure exciting opportunities will come your way. You are such a bright and impressive health communications professional–I always enjoy reading what you write and running into you in the halls of SPH!
    Mary Beth

Leave a Reply

