Hello from Denver – the 138th Annual Meeting of the American Public Health Association

Carrie Rheingans

I’m in Denver, Colorado this week for the 138th Annual Meeting and Expo of the American Public Health Association. It’s been really exciting so far, and I’m looking forward to reporting more over the next couple days. This year’s theme is “Social Justice: A Public Health Imperative”. I really like this theme because it very nicely ties together my two degree programs. I’m here to present a poster about the Student Handbook for Global Engagement that I worked on with over 30 students from across campus for the last year through the Center for Global Health.

Student Handbook for Global Engagement cover

Student Handbook for Global Engagement

One aspect of the annual meeting I’m excited about is how much social media is being incorporated into the meeting. You can follow the conversation on Twitter by searching the hashtag #APHA10 (and I’ll be tweeting with my handle @crheinga). The two highlights so far were the opening session and the Aaron Neville concert last night. The opening session had two keynote speakers talking about increasing health parity: Dr. William (Bill) Jenkins and Dr. Cornel West. I’ll write more about these activities later, as well as give a recap about how my poster session went and the two U-M networking events I’m attending later today – one for the HBHE department and alumni, and one general U-M SPH reception. Today will be an exciting day!

Dr. Cornel West fires up the crowd at the opening general session of APHA 2010

Dr. Cornel West fires up the crowd at the opening general session of APHA 2010

Aaron Neville and his Quintet at APHA 2010

Aaron Neville and his Quintet at APHA 2010

Leave a Reply

