Best Job Ever

Lauren Reid

I love my job. I’m not sure how many students can say this (I’ve heard of some pretty awful student jobs), but I 110% can. I work twenty hours a week, in addition to being a full time student. I look forward to going into work every day.

So where do I work? In the Child and Family Life Department at Mott Children’s Hospital. I started out volunteering at the Children’s Hospital as an undergraduate, and when I started my public health degree, stumbled across the job on the Student Employment Website. I was so tickled when I found out I was being offered the position, and have been working in the activity rooms at Mott for the past year.

The shifts are long, the kids are hospitalized because they are sick, and I used to leave work feeling defeated. I have always been interested in children’s health in particular, as they are a special subpopulation that often is not considered. But they are the most resiliant bunch of kids you will ever meet. They have strength and no fear. They have optimism, and with good reason! Most of these kids will deal with their illness, and then move on to be incredibly successful people, but with an influential past. Without their IV poles and bandages, you’d have no idea they were sick. They love to play games, create elaborate works of art, and melt your heart. I go home from work, and tell my friends and family about this kid or that kid — how they manage to brighten my day, every day.

One of my favorite parts of work are the parties we throw for the kids. Not only do I get to play with kids all day long, but I also get to plan events with crafts, games, music, movies. Our most recent party was halloween. We had fall food, halloween bingo with awesome prizes, silly bandz, and the most incredible face painter.

Casey and I on Halloween. He was Mater from Cars, and I was a friendly elf. And check out that SPH lanyard I'm rocking!

For the past couple of years, I haven’t dressed up for halloween, but halloween falling on one of the days I work gave me reason to go all out for a fun halloween costume.  I think Buddy the Elf would be proud.  And I can use the outfit for our Holiday party too!

5 thoughts on “Best Job Ever

  1. Lauren, it sounds like you are getting so much out of your work, and these children are lucky to have you! It’s quite clear that you brighten their sometimes difficult days. Best of luck to you on an amazing future.

  2. Hi Lauren,
    What a wonderful experience you are having. I am very proud of you.
    Can’t wait to hear about your next adventure.
    Love,
    Aunt Audry

  3. I agree kids lucky to have you. Very inspiring your life at the young
    age you have a big heart to children..Keep it up 🙂

  4. Thank you, Lauren, for being part of Casey’s process. I am Casey’s “Mimi” and the family is going through a difficult time – but you make his stays at the hospital bearable. He had a great time there on Halloween. Thanks!

    Roibn

Leave a Reply

