Blogspot-light: Jackie Cormany, HBHE Student Administrative Coordinator-extraordinaire

Katie Sloter

Katie Sloter

I thought it would be fun to periodically interview the important people who contribute to making SPH run the way it does. One person who has been particularly helpful to me in this process is Jackie Cormany, HBHE Student Administrative Coordinator, and I know I am not the only one who is privy to this information!* Let’s take a peek into the life of Jackie!

Jackie Cormany, HBHE Student Administrative Coordinator-extraordinaire

So Jackie, what is your story?

If I were to describe myself both here and at home, I guess it would be problem solver.  I think that is why I like this job.

What kind of problems do you solve?

Well, with my kids and husband, it’s every day stuff like… Do you know where I put my work gloves?  Or… I have a Spanish project due tomorrow and it’s not working out. Can you fix it?  At SPH I might have to find a creative way to squeeze in an extra credit that someone might be lacking to graduate.  Recently, I have had the challenge of remembering alum that may be able to help our first year students find internships.

Well how did you end up at SPH?

My best from high school’s aunt worked for Accounts Payable. My friend and I worked temporarily, and then I soon moved into another job located in Student Loan & Records.  They ended up hiring me full time. Through another friend, I heard about a job as a receptionist in what is now Academic Affairs.  I was then promoted to an admissions assistant.  In the summer of 1996 I noticed a posting for my current position and I have been in HBHE ever since.

What is your favorite part of your job?

I really do like how every day is not the same. Every day I have different tasks, and I see different people. Each spring I see students leave, but in the fall I have a new crew of students coming in.  And I really do like the faculty I work with—I don’t think I would have been here as long if it weren’t for them.

Outside of your job, what do you enjoy?

I enjoy family time. My favorite thing to do during the summer is hang out at my parents’ cottage with my extended family, which includes the extended pet family. I also really like being around teenagers.  I find them so interesting, challenging and fun.

Where are you from?

I am from a little farming community called Deerfield.  People find it funny that there were 22 people in my graduating class. Now I live in Blissfield.  I haven’t made it out of Lenawee County…

What do students come to you for?

Students come to me to make sure they are taking all the right classes, for contacts for internships or jobs—especially for particular areas of interests or locations.  Sometimes students just visit to debrief their day.

If you had any one piece of advice to offer current and prospective students, what would you say?

Ask a lot of questions.  Whether it is in the classroom or a job or field placement interview, just ask a lot of questions.  You may think that you are being a burden, but this means you are engaged and are thinking seriously about your future.

 

*Check out another link raving about Jackie!

One thought on “Blogspot-light: Jackie Cormany, HBHE Student Administrative Coordinator-extraordinaire

  1. Pingback: Blog Spotlight: Emily Renda! HBHE Internship and Alumni Coordinator « SPH Life – Student Blog

Leave a Reply

