What runs but never gets weary?

Katie Sloter

Katie Sloter

Photo from Mayo Detailing What Hydration Does
Water. H ‘two’ the O …

It is this simple thing, free, widely available to us. However, my dismal 5 a day Diet Coke habit along with my affinity for coffee sometimes replaces water. Alright, often replaces water. Or I just get busy, and I forget to drink it. I heard a quote somewhere that said by the time you are thirsty, you are already dehydrated. Recently, I had a moment where I got up from my chair and everything was sort of patchy, like a black and white television. It was four in the afternoon, and I realized the only liquid I had that day was my morning coffee. Bad public health student, bad!

Anyway, I have started putting my water bottle in the fridge the night before, and that is helping. I have also cut back my Diet Coke habit to 1 or 2 a day after reading this article (hey it is a start!) Do any of you have things that slip through the cracks when you get busy?

Check out this fun ‘did-ya-know’ slide-show about dehydration. Because if you’re procrastinating right now, you might as well learn something doing it …

Leave a Reply

