My First Slice of Grad School Pie!

Claudia:

Claudia

Hey! I’m Claudia, a first year student in Health Behavior Health Education (HBHE). After a 6 year school hiatus, I come all the way from California to Michigan to pursue my Master Degree in Public Health. I will be blogging about my experience at the School of Public Health (SPH) and hope that my perspective gives you a genuine glimpse of what life at SPH is like.

It’s the start of the 4th week of classes and things are finally starting to fall into place. The first three weeks have been all about figuring out what works. What classes to take? Should I take notes on a laptop, ipad, or just a good old-fashioned paper notebook? It’s also been about figuring out the best way to manage my time and fit in classes, work, socializing with new friends, and all the reading and assignments that I am are required to do. Plus, the University of Michigan has plenty of student activities that you can start participating in right away!

My schedule is starting to fill up as I take advantage of these opportunities. There are so many public health-related organizations and events open to students  -that  it’s hard to choose!

This weekend was the 2011 Ann Arbor AIDS Walk and the School of Public Health was the top fundraising team (for the second year in a row), raising over $4,000. All the money raised goes exclusively to HARC (HIV/AIDS Resource Center) – which is the ONLY AIDS service organization serving many of the surrounding Michigan counties. I was thrilled to be a part of the SPH team and see the enthusiasm that my peers showed throughout the event.

Just for Fun – A Piece of Grad School Pie!

What does your pie look like?
I decided to make a pie chart using SPSS (Statistical Package for the Social Sciences) of how I spend my time during a given week based on the first 3 weeks of school.

Results:

26.05% Sleeping
25.15%  Reading
7.19%     Thinking about  doing homework or readings
10.18%  Class (17 units)
5.99%    Working
7.49%    Dealing with moving issues – buying furniture & kitchen supplies; finding a shower curtain to match the bright pink
                  tiles in the bathroom.
8.38%    Freaking out! The moments while reading a research article that make you say – “Ah! I’m really in grad school!”
2.99%    Learning SPSS – Spending time in lab is inevitable!
6.59%    Other – Most likely made up of being on facebook, catching up with friends and family, eating, and showering when
                  possible.
* I know the percentages add up to 100.01 and I don’t know why. I guess I still have more SPSS learning to do!
Now that you’ve seen mine, what does your grad school pie look like?

2 thoughts on “My First Slice of Grad School Pie!

  1. Cool article, though my pie looks a little different. Im not going to make one though because I am actually afraid to see how big my chunk for “Freaking Out Thinking About Finding a Job” really is, lol.

  2. My pie has a piece of “Procrastination” that seems to get bigger the longer the semester goes on. It goes great with a cold glass of “Why didn’t I do this earlier?”

Leave a Reply

