An ELEGANT way to support those impacted by cancer!

Michelle

Michelle

During my summer internship at the Cancer Support Community (CSC) of Greater Ann Arbor, I got involved in their latest initiative, The Brides Project. Based on a similar organization in Toronto, Canada, The Brides Project (TBP) is a non-profit run by volunteers dedicated to raising funds for the programs of the CSC through the resale of donated bridal gowns. Once-worn gowns donated by brides or unsold gowns donated by bridal shops are made available for purchase to brides-to-be at a considerable savings. All profits from the sale of the gowns go to the CSC to support programs and services for people touched by cancer.

The gowns are high quality and offered at costs of 50% below market prices. And the boutique is at 208 W. Liberty St. in downtown Ann Arbor, thanks to Mark Hodesh of Mark’s Carts and Downtown Home and Garden fame!

Lovely Front Door of The Brides Project Boutique!

I have been a volunteer at the Cancer Support Community for two years and it’s been wonderful every minute- but this project has gone above and beyond and shown me how creative you can be when you put your mind to it! My involvement with TBP started with many different planning committees – helping with anything I could along the way. I helped create the inventory system for the donated dresses and inevitably I ended up working at a bridal show…

Might be bad luck, but it was fun nonetheless! This upcoming weekend – I’m so lucky to be going with fellow HBHEr, Leah Gacoich, to an appointment at TBP boutique. She’s going to look so beautiful in all of the gowns! 🙂 I will try to update the blog with some of her thoughts about the project after the appointment on Sunday.

Hope everyone is having a productive, fun Fall Study Break! Don’t forget to stop by my poster this Friday to learn more about The Brides Project and the Cancer Support Community!

4 thoughts on “An ELEGANT way to support those impacted by cancer!

  1. Michelle, thank you so much for introducing me to The Brides Project. It was such an incredible experience, I would HIGHLY recommend it for anyone in the process of searching for a dress. All the gowns are beautiful (such a variety) and you can’t beat the prices! The women who were there to help us were just wonderful. I am very impressed by TBP, as it’s for an amazing cause and I think a lot of girls would be surprised what they could find there. And of course ask Michelle before you go because she might have a dress in mind for you 🙂 The one she had in mind for me was one of the top contenders!

Leave a Reply

