SPH Student a Part of YouTube Next Chef Program

Tasha

The students at the University of Michigan School of Public Health have many interests. Public Health is such a passion of ours, we can not help but extend that passion throughout our lives. Some of my colleagues practice yoga, others play string instruments, and one is a champion Triathlete!  

 
I hate to toot my own horn, but I have also been making strides in my extracurriculars. It all started on August 2, 2010 when I started my YouTube Channel, The Sweetest Vegan. My first videos were reviews of vegan desserts. Soon after I started to post dessert recipes, and now I post an array meal ideas for the fledgling vegan/vegetarian. On April 2, 2011, my channel was accepted into the YouTube Partnership Program. As a YouTube Partner, I enjoy several benefits that include: promotion, revenue sharing, development tools, and advanced creative control.
 
And that brings me to my announcement. YouTube has launched a partner development program called Next Chef. YouTube set out to find the world’s next big chefs, and selected 16 channels from the United States, Canada, Australia, India, and the United Kingdom. Guess what? THE SWEETEST VEGAN WON ONE OF THOSE SPOTS! I believe that makes me an International Food Star (my words, no one elses).
 
So really, what does being selected for the YouTube Next Chef Program entail:
– $10,000 worth of advertising promotion for my channel across YouTube
– Professional video equipment – DSLR Camera, Lights, Microphones, Green Screen, and more
– Training and mentoring from industry professionals
 
If you can not tell, I am so excited to participate in this program. I think it is a great opportunity to gain exposure for my vegan/vegetarian cooking show. I love health and I love that my channel shares healthy food choices with the world! Public health is indeed my passion and it permeates throughout my endeavors.
 
 

3 thoughts on “SPH Student a Part of YouTube Next Chef Program

Leave a Reply

