Officially Halfway Done!!!

Eboni

Hi Everyone!

My name is Eboni Thompson and I am SPH’s newest blogger! I hail from Baton Rouge, Louisiana (yes, people from the South do come to Michigan) :-), and I am now a 2nd year student in the best department within the School of Public Health…HMP! I have throughly enjoyed my 1st year in SPH and this has been a great learning experience, both in and out of the classroom, from my Econ struggles, to exploring Ann Arbor & what it has to offer, to even voicing my opinions and concerns after taking a Diversity course. Below, are a few things I have learned over the past year. I hope it helps! Prospective students, my next post will be for you. Remember, if you aren’t growing, you aren’t truly learning.

1st Year Advice:

  • Find a great group of friends: Trust me, this program will be so much more enjoyable if you have a great group of friends. I have had some of the best laughs with my friends during our study sessions. Maybe because we’re all delusional at some point, but nevertheless, we enjoy ourselves. This program isn’t just about learning academically. It’s about teamwork, networking, and growing as a healthcare professional. Outside of your close friends, get to know other students in and out of your program. You never know who you’ll need to reach out to one day…or who will become a CEO & you’ll want to say your friend is CEO of thus and so company. 🙂
  • Professors are your friend (professionally of course): Utilize office hours. If you don’t understand something, ask! Waiting until the end of semester is too late to salvage a grade. Learn who your professors are, what their research is, allow them to get to know you. After all, you may one day need a letter of recommendation and they are more apt to write one for you if they know who you are. Along with that, they are people too! They are very knowledgeable and great resources to have. There are numerous staff and faculty members that ask how I am doing both academically and personally. It’s a great gesture, especially with my family being 16 hours away.
  • Become involved: Everyone at the University of Michigan is smart, if they weren’t, they wouldn’t be here. Not everyone is a leader. Take the time to get involved, speak your mind, make a difference, and so much more. Join a student organization such as Public Health Student Assembly (PHSA) or Public Health Students of African Descent (PHSAD). Volunteer in the Ann Arbor, Ypsilanti, and Detroit communities. Your help is both needed and appreciated.
  • Last but not least…ENJOY Ann Arbor: Ann Arbor is a great college town. It’s very beautiful in the fall. Take time to go for a run, smell the flowers, etc. Main Street is a great deal of fun. For most people, this is the last time you’ll be able to simply be a student. Embrace it. Have fun. Go explore!!!

As for me, I am in New Orleans, Louisiana interning with Ochsner Health System. I can’t believe I’m already halfway done with my 11-week internship. Seems as if I just started. I am spending my summer working, learning, writing personal statements for my fellowship applications, and making sure I spend as much time with my family and friends as I possibly can. School will start before I know it!

4 thoughts on “Officially Halfway Done!!!

  1. Hi Eboni,

    I came across your blog post when I was looking at the UofM School of Public Health Website. Great to see you blogging about your experience in the program!

    I’m working on a health communications project and was wondering if I might be able chat with you as I’m curious about the student experience and connectivity at the SPH as I’m hoping to reach out to different students in Public Health across the country, including UofM. I’m a public health graduate myself (from Toronto though). My email is included in the details of this post — I would appreciate connecting with you sometime.

    Either way, all the best with your internships this summer!
    Andrea

  2. Thanks for your insights about your first year at SPH. Have you noticed many differences going into your second year? Any new advice you have already?

Leave a Reply

