A Fresh Perspective

Andy

Hello Everyone –

My name is Andy Mychkovsky and I am an incoming HMP student. When asked to blog I accepted, mainly to repay the graces from last year’s posters. Now I understand this won’t help anyone if everything is sugarcoated, so I will make this as candid as possible. Debate is encouraged, as long as it’s carried out in a respectful manner. Also, if you find something interesting or relevant that you would like elaborated, I will do my best to respond promptly.

Work Experience

Following graduation from Grand Valley State University, I fortuitously landed a position with the Ann Arbor based consulting firm, Blue Cottage Consulting. Our goal is to transform healthcare one project at a time. We primarily do visioning, strategy, operations and facility planning in healthcare systems across North America. If interested, I have added a link to our website here. There is honestly too much to describe this time around, but would be willing to speak further if demand exists.

Why Michigan?

Frankly, I chose the University of Michigan because I believed it would attract the highest level of talent. My goal was to surround myself with the most passionate, talented, intelligent and innovative colleagues imaginable for this degree.

2012-2013 Expectations

Here are my expectations for the upcoming year:

  1. I expect to learn more and work harder this year than I have in any previous calendar year.
  2. I expect to know each one of my classmates on a level far deeper than just name, Alma Mater, profession and career interests.
  3. I expect Michigan football to have a winning season.
  4. I expect the professors to challenge students to think “outside the box” in class discussion through use of Socratic Method or well positioned questions.
  5. I expect professors to never just read straight from a PowerPoint unless absolutely necessary (within reason).
  6. I expect professors to incorporate specific work/industry experience into their teachings.
  7. I expect alumni/current students to be open (within reason) to informational interviews, friendly meet-and-greets, etc.
  8. I expect to snag a highly competitive summer internship, whatever that may be.
  9. I expect to have a great year.

“High achievement always takes place in the framework of high expectation.” – Charles Kettering.

With only a month left before school starts, I wish everyone a fantastic August. I look forward to seeing what the rest of the year has to offer, Go Blue!

Andy Mychkovsky is a first year HMP student at the School of Public Health.

Leave a Reply

