Diptheria, Listeria….Hypsteria?!

aparnaIt’s hard to believe that my first year as a grad student is coming to an end!

Throughout the last few months, I have found so many reasons to rediscover my love for Ann Arbor, none of which include the ridiculous cold of course!

Compared to my experience as an undergrad student here, I’ve loved my grad experience a lot more. Any of you who are thinking about coming here from U of M – DO IT! It seems kind of crazy to think that anywhere on campus can be thought of as “small,” but that is exactly what SPH has been for me – a small, close knit community of friends, colleagues, faculty and staff that all work together for the betterment of the community.

I’ve enjoyed my experience in extracurricular activities here – most notably PHAST! You can read all about our experiences in Texas on the Frontlines Blog! It was great to see how a few months in the classroom could be turned into first hand knowledge a stone’s throw from Mexico.

IMG_3914 (It says PHAST 15 in the sand)

Another reason to love being a grad student here – everyone is so, so funny! Of course, as an epidemiology student, we’ve talked about all the main epidemic players – Ebola, Listeria, vaccine-preventable illness…but leave it to UMSPH to come out with breaking news on the latest epidemic – Hypsteria!

I’ll publish another post reflecting fully on my first year’s experience as well as preparations for my summer internship, but for now, watch the video to see why “Go Blue” is the only place you’ll ever need to go!

4 thoughts on “Diptheria, Listeria….Hypsteria?!

    • Hi Jen! Thanks for commenting – studying here has been great 🙂 I get the chance to do a lot of extracurricular “real world” things…I’m in the Global Health Epidemiology track here and just finished my first year. It’s been a great year so far and I’m super excited for my internship this summer! I feel as though all our classes really prepare us for this summer of adventure and I’m happy that I’ve been going blue for this journey! Let me know if you have any specific questions that I can answer for you 🙂

    • Hi Sally, Thanks for reaching out! SPH is a great, safe environment – located in Ann Arbor, MI. Crime and things can happen anywhere, but I always felt safe at SPH – it was a great experience!

Leave a Reply

