Round 2!

tanya

I recently started the second and final stage of my Health Management and Policy program, and I can’t believe that it’s already been a year since I first came to Ann Arbor and started orientation at SPH! This has been one of the most fulfilling years of my academic and professional career.

I worked this summer at a consulting firm on a project that reflects important changes in the healthcare industry today. I was able to see real-time how hospitals are preparing for the transition to the 10th revision of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases (ICD), a medical classification list made by the World Health Organization. I was able to prepare presentations for different clinical departments in order to raise awareness on how the quality of clinical documentation will play a major role in coding to the greatest specificity, and ultimately in hospital reimbursement. It was an amazing experience because I had the opportunity to apply a lot of concepts learned inside the classroom, especially in my healthcare accounting, finance and hospital management classes, and I truly appreciated the value of my program.

This year we are able to choose elective classes that reflect more clearly the path each student wants to pursue after graduation. For example, I’m taking more finance, strategy and business innovation courses, both at SPH and the Ross (Business) school. I’m very excited about all the interesting and new things I will learn, and I know it will be very relevant for my professional future.

My advice for first-year students would be to always keep the focus on the long term, and do not lose sight of your goals, even on those winter days when you barely see what’s in front of you because of all the snow! =) . Also, take good care of yourselves, collaborate with other classmates and enjoy the best you can your time here, because it will go by very fast!

One thought on “Round 2!

Leave a Reply

