Blood, Sweat, Tears, and Guts: How I Got to SPH

As an undergraduate, I became a certified EMT and responded to emergencies on campus. There was the inevitable freshman who called when he got the flu in the fall and his mother was not their to tell him to take some ibuprofen. There was the epileptic whose roommate spotted having a seizure at 3am. And there was blood.

I have never been athletic, ever. I ran cross country in middle school, but that’s it. I developed a love of biking when studying abroad in Denmark as an undergraduate, but I only like to bike places and not just for exercise. I worked with a trainer over this past summer and loved it. And there was sweat.

School is stressful. Life is stressful. I think you get it. And there were tears.

Blood doesn’t bother me, but I have no desire to be a clinician. Sweat does bother me, but I have a, reluctant, desire to be healthy (though my regular workouts have become less regular now school has started). But why more school if there were already tears? Guts.

Thoreau

I was not where I wanted to be yet. In fact, I had no idea where I wanted to be. Honestly, I applied to SPH not because I knew for sure that it was what I wanted, but because I knew for sure I had no idea what I wanted. Public health was definitely not the worse thing I could do- at least until I figured out what I really wanted.

As it turns out, that random gut instinct to apply to public health schools was not so random. While my brain was spinning with just returning to the States from Denmark and beginning my senior year of undergrad, my gut was taking care of me. I thought I was going to public health school to buy myself two more years before the real-world. What I found was my world.

Axson_Eleanor_1As an Ohioan, of course assumed I would end up at *cough*, but when I came to this school up north for Admitted Students day, my gut pulled at my heartstrings. I am not suggesting you apply to public health school just because you have no idea what else to do. I am not suggesting that some school up north will pull at your heartstrings. But I am saying that sometimes your gut knows better than your brain where you belong.  Blue and gold got me through high school and undergrad, now it is blue and maize that will get me through grad.

If public health is for you, your gut will let you know. If some school up north (or down south) is right for you, your gut will let you know. You don’t have to be sure, you just have to have the guts to know that you CAN find where you belong.

Happy grad school hunting! *go you* (see what I did there? 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

