Onward!

Hello everyone! My name is Sarah Bassiouni and I’m excited to be one of the UMSPH Student Life bloggers.  The plan is for me to share my experiences as a current student and budding epidemiologist with you in the coming months.

To start off, a bit of background: I’m a second-year Master of Public Health student in Hospital & Molecular Epidemiology here at UMSPH. My interests are primarily at the intersection of infectious diseases, molecular epidemiology, and human genetics. Outside of my classes, I serve on the Executive Boards for the Epidemiology Student Organization at SPH and the Sujal M. Parikh Symposium for Health and Social Justice at the UM Medical School.

Screen Shot 2016-02-08 at 3.05.12 PM.png

The 2015 Sujal Symposium at UM (BSRB). That’s me, where the yellow arrow is pointing.

 

Since it’s that time where many of you first-years are searching for or finalizing internships, you may be interested in reading about my 2015 summer research internship in Malawi where I studied malaria, met some amazing people, and learned a great deal about molecular epidemiology in particular and public health (and clinical medicine) in general.

https://umsphfrontlines.files.wordpress.com/2015/09/img_20150709_111403.jpg?w=899&h=674

And with that introduction, I’ll leave you with this classically humorous description of epidemiology. Until my next post, Go Blue!

Leave a Reply

